Job Hunting, Finding My Passion, etc.

Today I applied for Telemetry Technician, a position in EKG interpretation and a position shoveling horse manure. The position I applied to last week, EKG Technician, a position conducting full examinations, has already been filled. I studied 12 lead interpretation, focusing on enlargement, pericarditis, and electrolyte imbalance.

I also spent most of the day eating way too much and watching TED talks… Working on job applications has been good for me to do. I’m not too excited about it, I would rather work for myself, but I don’t have any better ideas about what to do there either. I want to use my creative energy and intuition to help people. I know I can do this at a regular job. I know I can do this on my own as well. The problem is, I don’t know what either of those really look like. I just know what it feels like. I don’t know how to make it happen. In an effort to give myself a better picture—and hopefully help some other people out too—I’m going to try to turn my hours of watching videos in something productive by answering some of the profound questions I came across.

What do I expect from life? This question was from Caroline McHugh. The answer to this is tough for me to pin down. I want life to be fun and meaningful. I also expect life to be challenging. I expect it to be sad and exciting. I’ve come to expect a lot from life when not long ago I didn’t expect much at all. For a long time I’ve tried to generate a complete lack of expectation and attachment so the advice I’ve been coming across lately.

How am I the only one who’s like me? This is also from Caroline. I don’t even know how to start answering this one. I like to think I’m an incredibly average person. I don’t have any unique or extreme experiences. I do think I have a unique combination of experience but it’s hard for me to pick out anything significant. So my unique perspective makes me who I am. I’m going through job hunting with a really supportive partner while wishing I could do more of the things I love but being too afraid because of my dwindling financial reserves.

What does freedom look like to you? This question is from Adam Baker. Freedom to me means the ability to live according to my own values. Not having to compromise with the things I know are important. I spent a lot of time working at jobs that don’t match with my values.

This isn’t a question but a profound belief that rocks me a bit when I think about it. John Scherer believes that every person in the world has a common purpose. To discover who we are and to express that uniqueness in a way that makes the world better. I really like John’s attitude. He has a lot of good things to say about jobs and work.

For someone who thinks motivation is total bullshit, Mel Robbins sure is motivating.

Watching Alex Szepietowski gave me the idea that I need to start working on affiliate marketing. This is an idea that I came across before but didn’t consider that much because I thought I’m just not into marketing. Today I got the idea that it doesn’t have to be marketing, it could be a way of networking so I’ve started by linking the videos I watched today. That won’t make me any money but it’s moving in the right direction.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

